During a special live launch broadcast in Johannesburg, South Africa, five players have been nominated to contest for the 2015 BBC African footballer of the year.


The nominees include holder and Algeria international, Yacine Brahimi, Porto forward Brahimi was impressive on the wings for Porto this year, scoring 13 goals last season leads the likes of Yaya Toure of Ivory Coast who happens to be the only African on its prestigious Ballon d'Or shortlist, Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Ghanaian Andre Ayew and Senegal forward Sadio Mane.

The winner will be decided by African football fans, who have until 18:00 GMT on 30 November to vote for their choice.

The winner will be announced on Friday, 11 December between 15:30 and 16:00 GMT during a special live broadcast on both BBC World News and BBC World Service, with the BBC Sport and BBC Africa websites also carrying the announcement.

Three of this year's shortlist, which was voted for by journalists from 46 African countries, have previously won the BBC award - Ayew in 2011, Toure in 2013 and Brahimi in 2014.

Aubameyang finished as Borussia Dortmund's top scorer last season and has continued with his rich vein of form this season makes the shortlist for the third year running, while Mane is on it for the first time, the Senegal international forward in the year under review scored the fastest hat-trick (179 seconds) in the 23-year history of the Premier League.

e-max.it: your social media marketing partner

Most Read