Nigerian Elections Debate Group (NEDG) and the Broadcasting Organisations of Nigeria (BON) on Tuesday released names of five political party to participate in 2019 vice presidential and presidential debates.

According to the statement signed by Eddi Emesiri, executive Secretary of the NEDG, the parties are Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN), All Progressives Congress (APC), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Young Progressives Party (YPP).

This means the presidential aspirants expected at the debate are Atiku Abubakar, Muhammadu Buhari, Oby Ezekwesili, Fela Durotoye and Kingsley Moghalu.

BON and NEDG have excluded Omoyele Sowore of the African Action Congress; Donald Duke of the Social Democratic Party; Tope Fasua of the Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP) and a host of others.

According to the statement, the decision to exclude some candidates is in line with global practices, and the American presidential system being practised in Nigeria.

The Vice Presidential debate will hold from 7 pm at the congress hall of the Transcorp Hilton in Abuja on Friday, December 14, 2018.

The presidential debate, on the other hand, will hold just over a month later, on Saturday, January 19, 2019.

The debates is expected to be transmitted live on all BON member stations and its affiliates and across major social media platforms.